Cost saving wedding favors idea

I boasted on my extravagances and my friends were the big supports that I had. Even for the monthly weekend party, I used to call upon hired helps; after all, it’s a nice feeling when you have the buzz going around in your head and the next drink arrives without even stretching a single limb. But my ideas of merrymaking nose-dived when I finally decided pairing up, legally.

Silver spoon wedding favor

Silver spoon wedding favor

Being the first one in the group, I never had an idea on the extent of expenditures that a wedding can make you land up to. Apart from the venue, I had to write exchequers for the reception, the decorations, the wedding rings (uh, they should be called suffer-rings instead) and for the first time, my wallet and I disagreed upon traveling the same path. I’m lucky that one of my friends is a photographer so I could cut out on that part – “Let it be the gift to you from my side”.

Now, there’s another one in my group who earns his bread by putting other people’s money in the right track; his financial planning expertise now spoke accolades to me. “Tighten up for those things you consider forming a small part. I recommend you to go easy on the wedding favors” was his advice.

  • Importance of wedding favors

But at the same time, I tried recollecting how those small things create a big impression on the people invited. The idea of giving out cheap wedding favors – to be true – is something I considered repulsive, but then again, my soon-to-be-wife grabbed the idea immediately. “They are mere wedding keepsakes and not any legal or religious requirement; and you do not need to shell out money to show me any gratitude; that applies even to your friends or relatives. They must know from your smile itself your appreciation for them.” But I figured out it’s the best to maintain a middle path; I started gathering info on cost saving wedding favors, instead of heading straight for the five-dollars-each type for a hundred guests.

Heart shaped wedding favor

Heart shaped wedding favor

  • Money saving tips for wedding favors

I racked my brains for the solution till I saw an aromatic candle lit at the local confectioner’s – “Bingo, how about a hundred of them, with ribbons and a short note or quote on love or friendship? And then ideas flowed in galore – my prior ideas of wine bottles got replaced with two-handled ceramic cups, for which, I approached a local manufacturer. The bulk order translated into some more savings; however, that was good, since fixing the candles within the cups kept me busy for three entire evenings, barring me from visiting the neighborhood pub and saving again at least another hundred dollars.

One response to “Cost saving wedding favors idea

  1. In trying to save money on your wedding and reception planning, I encourage you to also check out recycleyourwedding.com. We try to help you be environmentally friendly while saving money.

    Jeff Williams

Leave a Reply

